VU-IBM Masterclass on “Foundations of Cognitive Computing” (16-17 Nov)

The IBM Benelux Center for Advanced Studies (CAS) teamed up with our long term collaborators in academia, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, to deliver a 2-day masterclass, entitled “Foundations of Cognitive Computing”. The goal is to educate decision makers about the technology. The program features lectures by renowned VU professors Lora Aroyo, Guszti Eiben, and Frank van Harmelen, lectures by dr. Ken Barker, from IBM Research, NY and dr. Vanessa Lopez, IBM Research, Dublin, as well as demonstrations of past and present projects at CAS. Topics covered during the masterclass include:

  • The past, present and future of Artificial Intelligence
  • Introduction to Cognitive Computing and Watson
  • How do Cognitive Systems learn?
  • Where is Watson now?
  • AI for the Masses (AI services in the cloud)
  • When AI Goes Bad (Ethics)
  • Demos and Corresponding Deep Dives

The dates for this Masterclass are 16-17 November 2017.

Find more info HERE

Read More

  • ADS Thesis Awards 2022

    The ADS Thesis Awards aim to promote excellence in Data Science and AI from students at BSc and Master level. The Awards are open to students from all Amsterdam-based knowledge institutes.

  • Join LAB42’s Grand Opening on the 22nd of September

    On the 22nd of September LAB42 will host its Grand Opening from 15:00 onwards. LAB42 is an international hub for developing talent in the fields of digital innovation and AI. The building is the result of a partnership between the UvA, the municipality of Amsterdam and the business sector.

  • Register for the Data Science Day on the 13th of October

    The UvA Data Science Centre, part of the University Library, is pleased to host its second yearly Data Science Day on the 13th of October 2022.