Martin Kersten appointed ACM Fellow

CWI fellow Martin Kersten has been appointed as one of the 2016 fellows of the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM). Kersten was specifically selected for his work on the design and implementation of column store and main memory database systems. The award is a great scientific honour, as only 2 Dutch computer scientists (Edsger Dijkstra and Andrew Tanenbaum) have received this symbol of excellence prior to Kersten. The predecessors of Kersten also worked at CWI.

About the ACM Fellowship

The ACM Fellows program was established in 1993 to recognize outstanding ACM members. The title of ACM Fellow denotes professional excellence, as evidenced by technical, professional and leadership contributions that: advance the arts, sciences and practices of computing, promote the free interchange of ideas and information in the field, develop and maintain the integrity and competence of individuals in the field, and advance the objectives of ACM.

“As nearly 100,000 computing professionals are members of our association, to be selected to join the top one percent is truly an honor,” explains ACM President Vicki L. Hanson. “Fellows are chosen by their peers and hail from leading universities, corporations and research labs throughout the world. Their inspiration, insights and dedication bring immeasurable benefits that improve lives and help drive the global economy. ”

About Martin Kersten 

Kersten joined CWI in 1985 where he established the Database Research Group. Kersten worked on advancing the technology for database management his entire scientific career. He has designed three generations of database management system kernels, two of which have reached the market. He is co-founder of several CWI spin-offs to spread the technology. The latest one, MonetDB Solutions supports a worldwide uptake of the group’s flag ship product MonetDB. For his work on columnar stores he received the internationally prestigious ACM SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd innovations Award in 2014 and the ACM SIGMOD Systems Award in 2016.

Read More

  • Peter Boncz appointed ACM Fellow

    CWI researcher Peter Boncz has been appointed as one of the 2022 fellows of the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM).

  • Winners of the ADS Thesis Awards 2022

    The ADS Thesis Award winners for 2022 are Philipp Sommerhalter and Sarah Kwakkelaar in the BSc category and Krijn Doekemeijer and Julia Sudnik for the MSc category. The winners were announced at the ADS Highlights Event on the 8th of December 2022!

  • Symposium in honor of Cees de Laat and Leon Gommans

    A symposium entitled ‘From Systems and Networks to Complex Cyber Infrastructures’ took place on 9th December 2022 in honor of Cees de Laat (UvA IvI) and Leon Gommans (UvA IvI).