ADS Professors Launch the Innovation Center for Artificial Intelligence (ICAI)

Innovation Center for Artificial Intelligence (ICAI) officially launched

Science and business in the Netherlands are joining forces in the field of artificial intelligence. ICAI is an open collaborative initiative between knowledge institutes that is aimed at AI innovation through public-private partnerships. The Center is located at Amsterdam Science Park and is initiated by the University of Amsterdam and the VU University Amsterdam together with the business sector and government.

Maarten de Rijke, director of ICAI and professor of Information Retrieval (UvA): ‘The Netherlands has all the resources to take up a prominent position in the international AI landscape – top talent, innovation strength and research at world-class level. ICAI combines these strengths in a unique national initiative.’

Labs: The organisation is built around industry labs – multi-year partnerships between academic and industrial partners aimed at technological and talent development. The first lab within ICAI is a partnership with Ahold Delhaize. In the joint ICAI-Ahold Delhaize industry lab (AIRLab), seven PhDs will conduct research into socially responsible algorithms that can be used to make recommendations to consumers and into transparent AI technology for managing goods flows.

More info on the ICAI Website



Read More