Trippenhuis Amsterdam & streaming

CWI Soiree and van Wijngaarden Awards 2022

The Van Wijngaarden Awards 2022 are awarded to computer scientist Marta Kwiatkowska and mathematician Susan A. Murphy for the numerous and highly significant contributions they made to their respective research areas: preventing software faults and improving decision making in health.

The five-yearly award is established by CWI, the national research institute for mathematics and computer science in the Netherlands, and is named after former CWI director Aad van Wijngaarden. The winners receive the prize during a during a festive soirée in Amsterdam.

CWI has had to cancel the event on 18 November 2021, therefore it has been rescheduled for Thursday 3 November 2022.

Because of limitations on the number of physical attendees, CWI has sent personal invitations to this event. We would like to invite you to join our live stream of the soirée. Please inform Danielle Kollerie when you would like to receive the link to the live stream.

Preliminary program
19.00 doors open
19.30 start & welcome Ton de Kok
19.40 laudatio by Krzysztof Apt
19.45 award winner Marta Kwiatkowska
20.15 intermezzo
20.45 laudatio by Peter Grünwald
20.50 award winner Susan A. Murphy
21.20 closing Ton de Kok
21.25- 22.30 drinks

The five-yearly Van Wijngaarden Award is named after Adriaan van Wijngaarden (1916–1987). Van Wijngaarden was directly involved in the introduction of the computer in the Netherlands and has been of invaluable importance for CWI and the evolution of the computer in our country. He is also one of the founders of computer science in the Netherlands and laid the foundation for several mainstream computer languages. Van Wijngaarden was the director of the Mathematical Center from 1961-1980, currently known as Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica (CWI).

It is the fourth time the Van Wijngaarden Awards are awarded. Previous awards went to Nancy Lynch and Persi Diaconis (2006), Éva Tardos and John Butcher (2011) and Sara van de Geer and Xavier Leroy (2016). The Van Wijngaarden Award consists of a bronze sculpture by Hanneke van den Bergh.