Researchers

Our researchers are experts in a range of disciplines, encompassing business analytics, digital humanities, informatics, life sciences and social sciences. Within these disciplines, we focus our applications specifically related to the Dutch top sectors: city analytics, creative industry, energy, health, intelligence and security, and logistics.

aGo to top

Sanne Abeln

ADS Management Team - Assistant Professor Bioinformatics - VU s.abeln@vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • Computational Modelling
  • Data Analytics
  • Data Stewardship

Pieter Adriaans

AAA Project Leader - UvA P.W.Adriaans@uva.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • information and computation interactions
  • Machine Learning
  • Philosophy of information

Hamideh Afsarmanesh

Professor Computer Science - UvA h.afsarmanesh@uva.nl
  • Federated Collaborative Databases
  • Semantic Information Modelling
  • Virtual Organisations

Lora Aroyo

Creative Industry - Professor of Computer Science - VU lora.aroyo@vu.nl
  • CULTURAL HERITAGE
  • recommendation systems
  • Web Semantics

bGo to top

Henri Bal

ADS Advisory Board - Professor of Computer Science - VU h.e.bal@vu.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Web Semantics

Rens Bod

AAA Project Leader - Professor of Digital Humanities - UvA L.W.M.Bod@uva.nl
  • computational literary studies
  • computational musicology
  • digital aesthetics
  • natural language cognition

Sander Bohte

ADS Research Project - Scientific Staff Member - CWI S.M.Bohte@cwi.nl
  • computational neuroscience
  • Deep learning
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Neural networks

Peter Boncz

AAA Project Leader - Scientific Staff Member - CWI - Professor - VU P.Boncz@cwi.nl
  • Database Architectures

Hans Borgman

Professor of Information Systems and Digital Business - UvA h.p.borgman@uva.nl
  • Digital Innovation
  • IT Governance
  • Technology Adoption

Herbert Bos

Professor of Computer Systems - VU HerbertB@cs.vu.nl
  • Reverse Engineering
  • System Security
  • vulnerabilities in binary software

Peter Bosman

Senior Researcher - CWI Peter.Bosman@cwi.nl
  • deformable image registration
  • evolutionary algorithms
  • Machine Learning
  • multi-objective optimisation
  • radiotherapy treatment planning

Tibor Bosse

Associate Professor Behavioural Informatics - VU t.bosse@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Intelligent Virtual Agents

Peter Boswijk

ADS Advisory Board - Professor of Financial Econometrics - UvA H.P.Boswijk@uva.nl
  • Econometric Applications of Machine Learning
  • High-Frequency Data
  • Risk Management

Bert Bredeweg

Associate Professor - UvA B.Bredeweg@uva.nl
  • Artificial intelligence in education
  • Knowledge Representation
  • Qualitative Reasoning
  • Valorisation

cGo to top

Pablo Cesar

Group Lead - CWI P.S.Cesar@cwi.nl
  • Immersive Media
  • multimedia systems
  • QoE
  • Sensing Technology

dGo to top

Yuri Demchenko

Senior Researcher - UvA y.demchenko@uva.nl
  • Big Data Architecture
  • Big Data Security
  • Cloud Computing

Willemijn van Dolen

Professor of Marketing - UvA W.M.vanDolen@uva.nl
  • Corporate social responsibility
  • Marketing
  • social media analysis
  • Social services to children

Elenna Dugundji

Senior Researcher - CWI-VU e.r.dugundji@cwi.nl
  • Electric Vehicle Infrastructure
  • Freight Logistics
  • Stochastic Modelling
  • Transportation and Mobility Systems
  • Travel Behaviour

eGo to top

Gusz Eiben

Professor of Computational Intelligence - VU a.e.eiben@vu.nl
  • Adaptive Collective Systems
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Artificial Life
  • Evolutionary Computing
  • evolutionary robotics

Twan Eikelenboom

ADS Assignment - City Analytics - HvA t.w.eikelenboom@hva.nl

Iwan de Esch

AAA Project Leader - Associate Professor of Medicinal Chemistry - VU i.de.esch@vu.nl
  • Biocomputational Chemistry
  • drug innovation

fGo to top

Anton Feenstra

Assistant Professor Bioinformatics - VU Feenstra@chem.vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • STRUCTURAL BIOLOGY
  • systems biology

Frans Feldberg

AAA Project Leader - Professor of Data-Driven Business Innovation - VU j.f.m.feldberg@vu.nl
  • Data-Driven Business Model Innovation
  • decision support systems
  • Digital Innovation

gGo to top

Zeno Geradts

Professor by Special Appointment - UvA z.geradts@uva.nl
  • Forensic data science

Theo Gevers

Professor of Computer Vision - UvA th.gevers@uva.nl
  • computer vision
  • Deep learning
  • emotion recognition
  • object recognition

Peter Grünwald

Machine Learning Group Lead - CWI Peter.Grunwald@cwi.nl
  • information theory
  • Machine Learning
  • minimum description length
  • statistics

Chris de Graaf

AAA Project Leader - Assistant Professor Medicinal Chemistry - VU c.de.graaf@vu.nl
  • computational medicinal chemistry
  • molecular pharmacology
  • protein-ligand interactions

Clemens Grelck

University Lecturer - UvA c.grelck@uva.nl
  • computer architecture
  • green ICT
  • High Performance Distributed Computing

Paola Grosso

Assistant Professor - UvA p.grosso@uva.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures
  • green ICT
  • Optical Networking

Jonne Guyt

Assistant Professor - UvA j.y.guyt@uva.nl
  • Individual level choice models
  • Marketing
  • retailing
  • scanner panel

hGo to top

Evert Haasdijk

AAA Project Leader - Assistant Professor Computational Intelligence - VU e.haasdijk@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • computational intelligence
  • evolutionary algorithms
  • evolutionary robotics

Lynda Hardman

ADS Advisory Board - Professor of Multimedia Discourse Interaction - CWI Lynda.Hardman@cwi.nl
  • Digital Media
  • Information Access
  • Linked Data
  • Visualisation

Frank van Harmelen

AAA Programme Director - Professor in Knowledge Representation & Reasoning - VU frank.van.harmelen@cs.vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • information systems
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

Jaap Heringa

AAA Project Leader - Professor of Bioinformatics - VU heringa@cs.vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • genome analysis
  • network analysis
  • sequence analysis
  • systems biology

Robert van den Hoed

Lecturer Energy & Innovation - HvA r.van.den.hoed@hva.nl
  • green ICT
  • Infrastructures
  • Urban technology

Alfons Hoekstra

Associate Professor - UvA A.Hoekstra@uva.nl
  • computational science

Rutger Hofman

ADS Assignment - Infrastructures - Research programmer - VU rutger@cs.vu.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Machine Learning

Laura Hollink

ADS Research Project - Scientific Staff Member - CWI l.hollink@cwi.nl
  • Digital Media
  • Linked Data
  • Usage data

Mark Hoogendoorn

AAA Project Leader - Assistant Professor of Artificial Intelligence - VU m.hoogendoorn@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Machine Learning
  • personalised therapies
  • predictive modelling for diseases

kGo to top

Evangelos Kanoulas

AAA Project Leader - Programme Manager of ADS Data Science MSc - Assistant Professor - UvA e.kanoulas@uva.nl
  • Information Retrieval
  • Natural Language Understanding
  • Text mining
  • Web search

Martin Kersten

Fellow - CWI - Professor - UvA Martin.Kersten@cwi.nl
  • Database Architectures
  • query optimisation

Gunnar Klau

Research Group Leader - CWI - Professor - VU gunnar.klau@cwi.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • Combinatorial Algorithms
  • Computational Biology
  • Network Biology

Michel Klein

Assistant Professor of AI - VU michel.klein@cs.vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • behavioural data
  • intelligent self-management systems

Sander Klous

ADS Assignment - Connections with Business - Professor in Big Data Ecosystems UvA - KPMG s.klous@uva.nl
  • Big data
  • data processing technologies
  • High Performance Distributed Computing

Umut Konus

Associate Professor of Marketing and Digital Business - UvA U.Konus@uva.nl
  • Attribution Models
  • Choice Models
  • Customer Journeys
  • Mobile and Online Marketing
  • Omnichannel Marketing

Ger Koole

ADS Advisory Board - Professor in Business Analytics - VU ger.koole@vu.nl
  • Applied Probability
  • Stochastic Optimisation

Ben Krose

Professor in Digital Health - HvA-UvA b.j.a.krose@hva.nl
  • Ambient robotics
  • Digital Life
  • distributed camera surveillance
  • human-robot interaction
  • visual navigation

lGo to top

Cees de Laat

Professor System and Network Engineering - UvA delaat@uva.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures

Patricia Lago

ADS Postgraduate Education and Internal Connections - Professor Software & Services - VU p.lago@vu.nl
  • cloud migration
  • Green IT and Sustainability management
  • Service oriented architecting
  • software engineering

Inger Leemans

AAA Project Leader - Professor of Cultural History - VU i.b.leemans@vu.nl
  • CULTURAL HERITAGE
  • data perspectives
  • deep data representation
  • historical perspectives

Mike Lees

Assistant Professor - UvA m.h.lees@uva.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • computational science
  • Multi-agent systems

mGo to top

Ivano Malavolta

Assistant Professor - VU ivanomalavolta@gmail.com
  • mobile-enabled systems
  • Model-Driven Engineering
  • software architecture
  • software engineering for robotics

Stefan Manegold

ADS Assignment - Database Management - Scientific Staff Member - CWI Stefan.Manegold@cwi.nl
  • Database Architectures

Maarten Marx

ADS Research Project - UvA M.J.Marx@uva.nl
  • political data

Rob van der Mei

R&D Manager CWI, Professor at VU R.D.van.der.Mei@cwi.nl
  • analysis of communication networks
  • Logistics
  • Networks and Algorithms
  • Performance Modelling
  • Stochastics

Roeland Merks

Scientific Staff Member - CWI - Professor of Multiscale Mathematical Biology - ULeiden Roeland.Merks@cwi.nl
  • Modelling and Simulation
  • Multiscale Mathematical Biology
  • systems biology

Christof Monz

Associate Professor - UvA c.monz@uva.nl
  • Machine translation
  • Text mining

Joris Mooij

Assistant Professor - UvA J.M.Mooij@uva.nl
  • approximate inference
  • causal discovery
  • Machine Learning

nGo to top

Peter Neijens

AAA Project Leader - Professor of Media and Persuasion - UvA P.C.Neijens@uva.nl
  • persuasive communication

Sabine Niederer

ADS Advisory board - Director of CREATE-IT - HvA s.m.c.niederer@hva.nl
  • Citizen Empowerment
  • data visualisation
  • Digital Media

Julia Noordegraaf

AAA Project Leader - Professor of Digital Heritage - UvA J.J.Noordegraaf@uva.nl
  • digital heritage

oGo to top

Jacco van Ossenbruggen

ADS Research Project - Group Leader - CWI Jacco.van.Ossenbruggen@cwi.nl
  • CULTURAL HERITAGE
  • Information Access
  • Linked Data
  • Web Semantics

pGo to top

Eric Pauwels

ADS Assignment - Energy - Group Leader - CWI Eric.Pauwels@cwi.nl
  • Intelligent Systems

Andy Pimentel

Associate Professor - UvA A.D.Pimentel@uva.nl
  • embedded systems
  • Modelling and Simulation
  • Multi- and manycore computer systems
  • System exploration and optimisation

Marijn Plomp

Assistant Professor & Programme Manager - VU m.g.a.plomp@vu.nl
  • Chain digitisation
  • Chain-Computerisation

rGo to top

Hajo Reijers

ADS Management Team - Professor in Business Informatics - VU h.a.reijers@vu.nl
  • business process improvement
  • business process management
  • conceptual modelling
  • workflow technology

Maarten de Rijke

ADS Director - Professor of Information Retrieval - UvA M.deRijke@uva.nl
  • Information Retrieval
  • Search Engines
  • Text mining

sGo to top

Marc Salomon

ADS Management - Professor in Decision Sciences - UvA M.Salomon@uva.nl
  • Applied Mathematics
  • Business Economics
  • Operational Research

Alexander Schönhuth

CWI Alexander.schönhuth@cwi.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • Cancer Systems Biology
  • Computational Genomics
  • Statistical Modelling
  • Structural Variant Discovery

Stefan Schlobach

Associate Professor - VU k.s.schlobach@vu.nl
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

Guus Schreiber

Professor of Computer Science - VU guus.schreiber@vu.nl
  • Linked Data
  • Multimedia Analytics
  • Web Semantics

Peter Sloot

Professor of Computational Science - UvA P.M.A.Sloot@uva.nl
  • biomedicine
  • Complex Adaptive Systems
  • computational science

Arnold Smeulders

Professor of Multimedia Information Analysis - UvA A.W.M.Smeulders@uva.nl
  • computer vision
  • content-based image
  • Intelligent Systems
  • multimedia information processing
  • video retrieval

Age Smilde

AAA Project Leader - Professor of Biosystems Data Analysis - UvA A.K.Smilde@uva.nl
  • systems biology

Cees Snoek

Associate Professor - UvA cgmsnoek@uva.nl
  • image retrieval
  • Intelligent Systems
  • video retrieval
  • Web Semantics

tGo to top

Annette ten Teije

ADS Health Assignment - Associate Professor Knowledge Representation and Reasoning - VU annette@cs.vu.nl
  • formalisation of medical knowledge
  • Healthcare Information Management
  • Healthcare quality indicators
  • Medical Guidelines

Bas Teusink

AAA Project Leader - Professor in Systems Bioinformatics - VU bas.teusink@vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • systems biology

Damian Trilling

AAA Project Leader - Assistant Professor Political Communication and Journalism - UvA d.c.trilling@uva.nl
  • Big data
  • computational social science
  • personalised communication
  • political communication

uGo to top

Jacopo Urbani

AAA Project Leader - Assistant Professor of Computer Science - VU jacopo@cs.vu.nl
  • Knowledge Representation
  • Linked Data

vGo to top

Ana Varbanescu

Assistant Professor - Computer Systems Architecture - UvA A.L.Varbanescu@uva.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures

Piek Vossen

AAA Project Leader - Professor of Computational Lexicology - VU piek.vossen@vu.nl
  • Computational Lexicon
  • Computational Linguistics
  • Language Technology
  • Ontologies
  • WordNets

Spyros Voulgaris

Assistant Professor VU spyros@cs.vu.nl
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Networks and Algorithms

Claes de Vreese

AAA Project Leader - Professor of Political Communication - UvA c.h.devreese@uva.nl
  • media exposure measures
  • personalised communication
  • Political bias detection
  • political journalism

wGo to top

Tom Würdinger

AAA Project Leader - Co-director Neuro-oncology Research - VUmc t. wurdinger@vumc. nl
  • Cancer genomics
  • Cancer research
  • neuro-oncology

Max Welling

ADS Advisory Board - Professor in Machine Learning - UvA M.Welling@uva.nl
  • Big data
  • Deep learning
  • Machine Learning

Bart Westerman

AAA Project Leader - VUmc a.westerman@vumc.nl
  • Cancer genomics
  • Cancer research
  • oncogenes
  • transcriptomics

Marcel Worring

Professor Business Analytics - Associate Professor Informatics - UvA M.Worring@uva.nl
  • Information Visualisation
  • Intelligent Systems
  • Multimedia Analytics