Informatics & AI

Within ADS, our Informatics & Artificial Intelligence (AI) research focusses on curiosity-driven and use-inspired fundamental research in Computer Science

This involves complex information systems at large, with a focus on Collaborative, Data Driven, Computational and Intelligent Systems, all with a strong interactive component. Our researchers maintain strategic multi-disciplinary research links both inside and outside the ADS network.

Our ADS researchers within Informatics & AI span multiple faculties and knowledge institutions:

Our key researchers in this discipline are summarised below:

Our researchers

Sanne Abeln

Assistant Professor of Bioinformatics - VU s.abeln@vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • Computational Modelling
  • Data Analytics
  • Data Stewardship

Hamideh Afsarmanesh

Professor of Computer Science - UvA h.afsarmanesh@uva.nl
  • Federated Collaborative Databases
  • Semantic Information Modelling
  • Virtual Organisations

Henri Bal

Professor of Computer Science - VU h.e.bal@vu.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Web Semantics

Peter Bloem

Postdoc in Artificial Intelligence - UvA p.bloem@vu.nl
  • Complex systems
  • Deep learning
  • Graph grammars
  • Knowledge graphs
  • Motif extraction

Sander Bohte

ADS Research Project - Scientific Staff Member - CWI s.m.bohte@cwi.nl
  • computational neuroscience
  • Deep learning
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Neural networks

Peter Boncz

Supervisory Board - ADS | Database Architectures Group, Management Team - CWI | Professor of Large-Scale Analytical Data Management - VU p.boncz@cwi.nl
  • Database Architectures

Herbert Bos

Professor of Computer Systems - VU herbertb@cs.vu.nl
  • Reverse Engineering
  • System Security
  • vulnerabilities in binary software

Peter Bosman

Senior Researcher - CWI peter.bosman@cwi.nl
  • deformable image registration
  • evolutionary algorithms
  • Machine Learning
  • multi-objective optimisation
  • radiotherapy treatment planning

Bert Bredeweg

Professor of Tech-Enhanced STEM Education - AUAS b.bredeweg@hva.nl
  • Artificial intelligence in education
  • Knowledge Representation
  • Qualitative Reasoning
  • Valorisation

Davide Ceolin

Scientific Staff Member - CWI, Human-Centered Data-Analytics davide.ceolin@cwi.nl
  • Data quality
  • deep data
  • trust
  • web data

Pablo Cesar

Group Lead - CWI p.s.cesar@cwi.nl
  • Immersive Media
  • multimedia systems
  • Quality of Experience
  • Sensing Technology

Victor de Boer

Assistant Professor - VU v.de.boer@vu.nl
  • Human-Computer Interaction
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

Cees de Laat

Professor in Systems and Network Engineering - UvA delaat@uva.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures

Maarten de Rijke

Founding Director - ADS | Professor of Information Retrieval - UvA IvI | Director - IvI m.derijke@uva.nl
  • Information Retrieval
  • Search Engines
  • Text mining

Yuri Demchenko

Senior Researcher - UvA y.demchenko@uva.nl
  • Big Data Architecture
  • Big Data Security
  • Cloud Computing

Elenna Dugundji

Senior Researcher - CWI | Senior Researcher - VU e.r.dugundji@cwi.nl
  • Electric Vehicle Infrastructure
  • Freight Logistics
  • Stochastic Modelling
  • Transportation and Mobility Systems
  • Travel Behaviour

Gusz Eiben

Professor of Computational Intelligence - VU a.e.eiben@vu.nl
  • Adaptive Collective Systems
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Artificial Life
  • Evolutionary Computing
  • evolutionary robotics

Abdallah El Ali

Tenure Track Researcher - CWI abdallah.el.ali@cwi.nl
  • Affective Computing
  • Human-Computer Interaction
  • Sensing Technology

Anton Feenstra

Assistant Professor of Bioinformatics - VU feenstra@chem.vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • STRUCTURAL BIOLOGY
  • systems biology

Efstratios Gavves

Assistant Professor - UvA egavves@uva.nl
  • computer vision
  • Deep learning

Zeno Geradts

Professor by Special Appointment - UvA z.geradts@uva.nl
  • Forensic data science

Theo Gevers

Professor of Computer Vision - UvA th.gevers@uva.nl
  • computer vision
  • Deep learning
  • emotion recognition
  • object recognition

Clemens Grelck

University Lecturer - UvA c.grelck@uva.nl
  • computer architecture
  • green ICT
  • High Performance Distributed Computing

Paola Grosso

Associate Professor - UvA p.grosso@uva.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures
  • green ICT
  • Optical Networking

Peter Grünwald

Professor of Statistical Learning, Machine Learning Group Lead - CWI peter.grunwald@cwi.nl
  • Deep learning
  • information theory
  • minimum description length
  • statistics

Hinda Haned

Professor by Special Appointment of Data Science - UvA h.haned@uva.nl
  • data-driven decision making
  • Intelligent Systems
  • responsible data science

Lynda Hardman

Director - ADS | Manager Research & Strategy - CWI, Human-Centered Data-Analytics | Professor of Multimedia Discourse Interaction - UU lynda.hardman@cwi.nl
  • Digital Media
  • Information Access
  • Linked Data
  • Visualisation

Jaap Heringa

Management Team - ADS | Professor of Bioinformatics - VU j.heringa@vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • genome analysis
  • network analysis
  • sequence analysis
  • systems biology

Alfons Hoekstra

Professor of Computational Science and Engineering - UvA a.hoekstra@uva.nl
  • computational science

Rutger Hofman

Research Programmer - VU rutger@cs.vu.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Machine Learning

Laura Hollink

Scientific Staff Member - CWI l.hollink@cwi.nl
  • Digital Media
  • Linked Data
  • Usage data

Mark Hoogendoorn

Co-founder - AMDS | Assistant Professor of Artificial Intelligence - VU m.hoogendoorn@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Machine Learning
  • personalised therapies
  • predictive modelling for diseases

Zhisheng Huang

Senior Researcher - VU z.huang@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

Alexandru Iosup

Professor of Massivizing Computer Systems - VU a.iosup@vu.nl
  • Cloud Computing
  • data management systems architectures
  • High Performance Distributed Computing

Evangelos Kanoulas

Professor of Text Analytics & Information Retrieval - UvA e.kanoulas@uva.nl
  • Information Retrieval
  • Natural Language Understanding
  • Text mining
  • Web search

Martin Kersten

CWI-Fellow - CWI | Professor - UvA martin.kersten@cwi.nl
  • Database Architectures
  • query optimisation

Michel Klein

Assistant Professor of AI - VU michel.klein@cs.vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • behavioural data
  • intelligent self-management systems

Wouter M. Koolen

Scientific Staff Member, Machine Learning Group - CWI wmkoolen@cwi.nl
  • Bandits
  • Deep learning
  • Game Theory
  • Learning Theory

Ben Kröse

ADS | Lector in Digital Life - AUAS - b.j.a.krose@hva.nl
  • Ambient robotics
  • Digital Life
  • distributed camera surveillance
  • human-robot interaction
  • visual navigation

Tobias Kuhn

Assistant Professor - VU t.kuhn@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Bioinformatics
  • Computational Linguistics
  • natural language
  • semantic web

Patricia Lago

Professor of Software & Services - VU p.lago@vu.nl
  • cloud migration
  • Green IT and Sustainability management
  • Service oriented architecting
  • software engineering

Mike Lees

Assistant Professor - UvA m.h.lees@uva.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • computational science
  • Multi-agent systems

Ivano Malavolta

Assistant Professor - VU i.malavolta@vu.nl
  • mobile-enabled systems
  • Model-Driven Engineering
  • software architecture
  • software engineering for robotics

Stefan Manegold

Database Management, Scientific Staff Member - CWI stefan.manegold@cwi.nl
  • Database Architectures

Maarten Marx

Assistant Professor - UvA m.j.marx@uva.nl
  • political data

Christof Monz

Associate Professor - UvA c.monz@uva.nl
  • Machine translation
  • Text mining

Hannes Mühleisen

Scientific Staff Member - CWI | Assistant Professor - VU hannes.muehleisen@cwi.nl
  • Database Architectures
  • statistics

Eric Pauwels

Group Leader of Intelligent and Autonomous Systems - CWI eric.pauwels@cwi.nl
  • Intelligent Systems

Andy Pimentel

Associate Professor - UvA a.d.pimentel@uva.nl
  • embedded systems
  • Modelling and Simulation
  • Multi- and manycore computer systems
  • System exploration and optimisation

Stevan Rudinac

Assistant Professor - UvA ABS s.rudinac@uva.nl
  • computer vision
  • Information Retrieval
  • Information Visualisation
  • Machine Learning
  • Multimedia Analytics

Stefan Schlobach

Associate Professor - VU CS k.s.schlobach@vu.nl
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

Alexander Schönhuth

Professor - CWI a.schoenhuth@cwi.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • Cancer Systems Biology
  • Computational Genomics
  • Statistical Modelling
  • Structural Variant Discovery

Peter Sloot

Professor of Computational Science - UvA IvI p.m.a.sloot@uva.nl
  • biomedicine
  • Complex Adaptive Systems
  • computational science

Cees Snoek

Professor of Intelligent Sensory Information Systems - UvA IvI | Director - ICAI QUVA lab cgmsnoek@uva.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • image retrieval
  • Intelligent Systems
  • video retrieval
  • Web Semantics

Annette ten Teije

Supervisory Board - ADS | Associate Professor - VU CS annette@cs.vu.nl
  • formalisation of medical knowledge
  • Healthcare Information Management
  • Healthcare quality indicators
  • Medical Guidelines

Bas Teusink

Professor of Systems Bioinformatics - VU b.teusink@vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • systems biology

Jacopo Urbani

Assistant Professor - VU CS | Associated Member - CWI, Database Architectures jacopo@cs.vu.nl
  • Knowledge Representation
  • Linked Data

Rob van der Mei

Professor of Applied Mathematics - VU | R&D Manager - CWI r.d.van.der.mei@cwi.nl
  • analysis of communication networks
  • Logistics
  • Networks and Algorithms
  • Performance Modelling
  • Stochastics

Frank van Harmelen

Professor of Knowledge Representation & Reasoning - VU frank.van.harmelen@cs.vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • information systems
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

Herke van Hoof

Assistant Professor - UvA h.c.vanhoof@uva.nl
  • Machine Learning
  • reinforcement learning
  • robot models

Jacco van Ossenbruggen

Group Leader - CWI, Human-Centered Data-Analytics | Associate Professor - VU CS jacco.van.ossenbruggen@cwi.nl
  • CULTURAL HERITAGE
  • Information Access
  • Linked Data
  • responsible data science
  • Web Semantics

Ana Varbanescu

Assistant Professor - UvA IvI a.l.varbanescu@uva.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures

Max Welling

Professor of Machine Learning - UvA | Director - ICAI QUVA | Director - DELTA Lab m.welling@uva.nl
  • Big data
  • Deep learning

Marcel Worring

Professor of Business Analytics - UvA ABS | Associate Professor - UvA IvI | Director - ICAI Amsterdam | Scientific Director - ICAI AIM m.worring@uva.nl
  • Information Visualisation
  • Intelligent Systems
  • Multimedia Analytics