Researchers

Our researchers are experts in a range of disciplines, encompassing business analytics, digital humanities, informatics, life sciences and social sciences. Within these disciplines, we focus our applications specifically related to the Dutch top sectors: city analytics, creative industry, energy, health, intelligence and security, and logistics.

aGo to top

Sanne Abeln

Assistant Professor of Bioinformatics - VU s.abeln@vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • Computational Modelling
  • Data Analytics
  • Data Stewardship

Hamideh Afsarmanesh

Professor of Computer Science - UvA h.afsarmanesh@uva.nl
  • Federated Collaborative Databases
  • Semantic Information Modelling
  • Virtual Organisations

Abdallah El Ali

Tenure Track Researcher - CWI abdallah.el.ali@cwi.nl
  • Affective Computing
  • Human-Computer Interaction
  • Sensing Technology

bGo to top

Henri Bal

Professor of Computer Science - VU h.e.bal@vu.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Web Semantics

Emmanuelle Beauxis-Aussalet

Senior Track Associate - AUAS e.m.a.l.beauxis@hva.nl
  • Classification Error and Bias
  • Human-Computer Interaction
  • Visualization

Sandjai Bhulai

Professor of Business Analytics - VU s.bhulai@vu.nl
  • dynamic pricing
  • human resource analytics
  • Operational Research
  • social media analytics
  • statistics

Peter Bloem

Postdoc in Artificial Intelligence - UvA p.bloem@vu.nl
  • Complex systems
  • Deep learning
  • Graph grammars
  • Knowledge graphs
  • Motif extraction

Victor de Boer

Assistant Professor - VU v.de.boer@vu.nl
  • Human-Computer Interaction
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

Sander Bohte

ADS Research Project - Scientific Staff Member - CWI s.m.bohte@cwi.nl
  • computational neuroscience
  • Deep learning
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Neural networks

Peter Boncz

Supervisory Board - ADS | Database Architectures Group, Management Team - CWI | Professor of Large-Scale Analytical Data Management - VU p.boncz@cwi.nl
  • Database Architectures

Hans Borgman

Professor of Information Systems and Digital Business - UvA h.p.borgman@uva.nl
  • Digital Innovation
  • IT Governance
  • Technology Adoption

Herbert Bos

Professor of Computer Systems - VU herbertb@cs.vu.nl
  • Reverse Engineering
  • System Security
  • vulnerabilities in binary software

Peter Bosman

Senior Researcher - CWI peter.bosman@cwi.nl
  • deformable image registration
  • evolutionary algorithms
  • Machine Learning
  • multi-objective optimisation
  • radiotherapy treatment planning

Peter Boswijk

Professor of Financial Econometrics - UvA h.p.boswijk@uva.nl
  • Econometric Applications of Machine Learning
  • High-Frequency Data
  • Risk Management

Bert Bredeweg

Professor of Tech-Enhanced STEM Education - AUAS b.bredeweg@hva.nl
  • Artificial intelligence in education
  • Knowledge Representation
  • Qualitative Reasoning
  • Valorisation

cGo to top

Davide Ceolin

Scientific Staff Member - CWI, Human-Centered Data-Analytics davide.ceolin@cwi.nl
  • Data quality
  • deep data
  • trust
  • web data

Pablo Cesar

Group Lead - CWI p.s.cesar@cwi.nl
  • Immersive Media
  • multimedia systems
  • Quality of Experience
  • Sensing Technology

dGo to top

Yuri Demchenko

Senior Researcher - UvA y.demchenko@uva.nl
  • Big Data Architecture
  • Big Data Security
  • Cloud Computing

Willemijn van Dolen

Professor of Marketing - UvA w.m.vandolen@uva.nl
  • Corporate social responsibility
  • Marketing
  • social media analysis
  • Social services to children

Elenna Dugundji

Senior Researcher - CWI | Senior Researcher - VU e.r.dugundji@cwi.nl
  • Electric Vehicle Infrastructure
  • Freight Logistics
  • Stochastic Modelling
  • Transportation and Mobility Systems
  • Travel Behaviour

eGo to top

Gusz Eiben

Professor of Computational Intelligence - VU a.e.eiben@vu.nl
  • Adaptive Collective Systems
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Artificial Life
  • Evolutionary Computing
  • evolutionary robotics

Iwan de Esch

Associate Professor - VU i.de.esch@vu.nl
  • Biocomputational Chemistry
  • drug innovation

fGo to top

Anton Feenstra

Assistant Professor of Bioinformatics - VU feenstra@chem.vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • STRUCTURAL BIOLOGY
  • systems biology

Frans Feldberg

Professor of Data-Driven Business Innovation - VU j.f.m.feldberg@vu.nl
  • Data-Driven Business Model Innovation
  • decision support systems
  • Digital Innovation

gGo to top

Efstratios Gavves

Assistant Professor - UvA egavves@uva.nl
  • computer vision
  • Deep learning

Zeno Geradts

Professor by Special Appointment - UvA z.geradts@uva.nl
  • Forensic data science

Theo Gevers

Professor of Computer Vision - UvA th.gevers@uva.nl
  • computer vision
  • Deep learning
  • emotion recognition
  • object recognition

Noud van Giersbergen

Supervisory Board - ADS | Associate Professor - UvA n.p.a.vangiersbergen@uva.nl
  • Business Analytics
  • Econometric Theory

Peter Grünwald

Professor of Statistical Learning, Machine Learning Group Lead - CWI peter.grunwald@cwi.nl
  • Deep learning
  • information theory
  • minimum description length
  • statistics

Clemens Grelck

University Lecturer - UvA c.grelck@uva.nl
  • computer architecture
  • green ICT
  • High Performance Distributed Computing

Paola Grosso

Associate Professor - UvA p.grosso@uva.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures
  • green ICT
  • Optical Networking

Paul Groth

Supervisory Board - ADS | Professor of Algorithmic Data Science - UvA p.t.groth@uva.nl
  • data engineering
  • Intelligent Systems
  • Knowledge graphs
  • semantic web

Jonne Guyt

Assistant Professor - UvA j.y.guyt@uva.nl
  • Individual level choice models
  • Marketing
  • retailing
  • scanner panel

hGo to top

Hinda Haned

Professor by Special Appointment of Data Science - UvA h.haned@uva.nl
  • data-driven decision making
  • Intelligent Systems
  • responsible data science

Lynda Hardman

Director - ADS | Manager Research & Strategy - CWI, Human-Centered Data-Analytics | Professor of Multimedia Discourse Interaction - UU lynda.hardman@cwi.nl
  • Digital Media
  • Information Access
  • Linked Data
  • Visualisation

Frank van Harmelen

Professor of Knowledge Representation & Reasoning - VU frank.van.harmelen@cs.vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • information systems
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

Jaap Heringa

Management Team - ADS | Professor of Bioinformatics - VU j.heringa@vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • genome analysis
  • network analysis
  • sequence analysis
  • systems biology

Koen Hindriks

Full Professor of Artificial Intelligence - VU k.v.hindriks@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • autonomous systems
  • Knowledge Representation
  • ROBOTICS

Robert van den Hoed

Lecturer Energy & Innovation - AUAS r.van.den.hoed@hva.nl
  • green ICT
  • Infrastructures
  • Urban technology

Alfons Hoekstra

Associate Professor - UvA a.hoekstra@uva.nl
  • computational science

Rutger Hofman

Research Programmer - VU rutger@cs.vu.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Machine Learning

Laura Hollink

Scientific Staff Member - CWI l.hollink@cwi.nl
  • Digital Media
  • Linked Data
  • Usage data

Herke van Hoof

Assistant Professor - UvA h.c.vanhoof@uva.nl
  • Machine Learning
  • reinforcement learning
  • robot models

Mark Hoogendoorn

Co-founder - AMDS | Assistant Professor of Artificial Intelligence - VU m.hoogendoorn@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Machine Learning
  • personalised therapies
  • predictive modelling for diseases

Zhisheng Huang

Senior Researcher - VU z.huang@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

iGo to top

Alexandru Iosup

Professor of Massivizing Computer Systems - VU a.iosup@vu.nl
  • Cloud Computing
  • data management systems architectures
  • High Performance Distributed Computing

kGo to top

Evangelos Kanoulas

Professor of Text Analytics & Information Retrieval - UvA e.kanoulas@uva.nl
  • Information Retrieval
  • Natural Language Understanding
  • Text mining
  • Web search

Martin Kersten

CWI-Fellow - CWI | Professor - UvA martin.kersten@cwi.nl
  • Database Architectures
  • query optimisation

Michel Klein

Assistant Professor of AI - VU michel.klein@cs.vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • behavioural data
  • intelligent self-management systems

Sander Klous

UvA | Partner - KPMG s.klous@uva.nl
  • Big data
  • data processing technologies
  • High Performance Distributed Computing

Umut Konus

Associate Professor - UvA u.konus@uva.nl
  • Attribution Models
  • Choice Models
  • Customer Journeys
  • Mobile and Online Marketing
  • Omnichannel Marketing

Ger Koole

Professor of Business Analytics - VU ger.koole@vu.nl
  • Applied Probability
  • Stochastic Optimisation

Wouter M. Koolen

Scientific Staff Member, Machine Learning Group - CWI wmkoolen@cwi.nl
  • Bandits
  • Deep learning
  • Game Theory
  • Learning Theory

Ben Kröse

Supervisory Board - ADS | Lector in Digital Life - AUAS b.j.a.krose@hva.nl
  • Ambient robotics
  • Digital Life
  • distributed camera surveillance
  • human-robot interaction
  • visual navigation

Tobias Kuhn

Assistant Professor - VU t.kuhn@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Bioinformatics
  • Computational Linguistics
  • natural language
  • semantic web

lGo to top

Cees de Laat

Professor in Systems and Network Engineering - UvA delaat@uva.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures

Patricia Lago

Professor of Software & Services - VU p.lago@vu.nl
  • cloud migration
  • Green IT and Sustainability management
  • Service oriented architecting
  • software engineering

Inger Leemans

Professor - VU i.b.leemans@vu.nl
  • CULTURAL HERITAGE
  • data perspectives
  • deep data representation
  • historical perspectives

Mike Lees

Assistant Professor - UvA m.h.lees@uva.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • computational science
  • Multi-agent systems

Edo Roos Lindgreen

Professor of Data Science in Auditing - UvA e.e.o.rooslindgreen@uva.nl
  • Auditing
  • information security
  • privacy

mGo to top

Hannes Mühleisen

Scientific Staff Member - CWI | Assistant Professor - VU hannes.muehleisen@cwi.nl
  • Database Architectures
  • statistics

Ivano Malavolta

Assistant Professor - VU i.malavolta@vu.nl
  • mobile-enabled systems
  • Model-Driven Engineering
  • software architecture
  • software engineering for robotics

Stefan Manegold

Database Management, Scientific Staff Member - CWI stefan.manegold@cwi.nl
  • Database Architectures

Ilya Markov

Assistant Professor - UvA | Scientific Director - ICAI AIRLab i.markov@uva.nl
  • Click Models
  • Information Retrieval
  • reinforcement learning
  • Search Engines
  • Web search

Maarten Marx

Assistant Professor - UvA m.j.marx@uva.nl
  • political data

Rob van der Mei

Professor of Applied Mathematics - VU | R&D Manager - CWI r.d.van.der.mei@cwi.nl
  • analysis of communication networks
  • Logistics
  • Networks and Algorithms
  • Performance Modelling
  • Stochastics

Christof Monz

Associate Professor - UvA c.monz@uva.nl
  • Machine translation
  • Text mining

nGo to top

Sabine Niederer

Professor of Visual Methodologies - AUAS s.m.c.niederer@hva.nl
  • Citizen Empowerment
  • data visualisation
  • Digital Media

oGo to top

Jacco van Ossenbruggen

Group Leader - CWI, Human-Centered Data-Analytics | Associate Professor - VU CS jacco.van.ossenbruggen@cwi.nl
  • CULTURAL HERITAGE
  • Information Access
  • Linked Data
  • responsible data science
  • Web Semantics

pGo to top

Eric Pauwels

Group Leader of Intelligent and Autonomous Systems - CWI eric.pauwels@cwi.nl
  • Intelligent Systems

Nanda Piersma

Management Team - ADS | Professor by special appointment of Urban Analytics - AUAS | Researcher - CWI n.piersma@hva.nl

Andy Pimentel

Associate Professor - UvA a.d.pimentel@uva.nl
  • embedded systems
  • Modelling and Simulation
  • Multi- and manycore computer systems
  • System exploration and optimisation

Marijn Plomp

Assistant Professor, Programme Manager - VU m.g.a.plomp@vu.nl
  • Chain digitisation
  • Chain-Computerisation

rGo to top

Maarten de Rijke

Founding Director - ADS | Professor of Information Retrieval - UvA IvI | Director - IvI m.derijke@uva.nl
  • Information Retrieval
  • Search Engines
  • Text mining

Stevan Rudinac

Assistant Professor - UvA ABS s.rudinac@uva.nl
  • computer vision
  • Information Retrieval
  • Information Visualisation
  • Machine Learning
  • Multimedia Analytics

sGo to top

Marc Salomon

Management Team - ADS | Professor of Decision Sciences - UvA ABS m.salomon@uva.nl
  • Applied Mathematics
  • Business Economics
  • Operational Research

Alexander Schönhuth

Professor - CWI a.schoenhuth@cwi.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • Cancer Systems Biology
  • Computational Genomics
  • Statistical Modelling
  • Structural Variant Discovery

Stefan Schlobach

Associate Professor - VU CS k.s.schlobach@vu.nl
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

Peter Sloot

Professor of Computational Science - UvA IvI p.m.a.sloot@uva.nl
  • biomedicine
  • Complex Adaptive Systems
  • computational science

Cees Snoek

Professor of Intelligent Sensory Information Systems - UvA IvI | Director - ICAI QUVA lab cgmsnoek@uva.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • image retrieval
  • Intelligent Systems
  • video retrieval
  • Web Semantics

tGo to top

Annette ten Teije

Supervisory Board - ADS | Associate Professor - VU CS annette@cs.vu.nl
  • formalisation of medical knowledge
  • Healthcare Information Management
  • Healthcare quality indicators
  • Medical Guidelines

Bas Teusink

Professor of Systems Bioinformatics - VU b.teusink@vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • systems biology

Animesh Trivedi

Assistant Professor - VU CS a.trivedi@vu.nl
  • Cloud Computing
  • Distributed systems
  • Storage architectures

uGo to top

Niek van Ulzen

Programme and Data Manager at the faculty of Physical Activity, Sport & Nutrition - AUAS n.r.van.ulzen@hva.nl
  • data manager
  • ehealth
  • sports analytics

Jacopo Urbani

Assistant Professor - VU CS | Associated Member - CWI, Database Architectures jacopo@cs.vu.nl
  • Knowledge Representation
  • Linked Data

vGo to top

Ana Varbanescu

Assistant Professor - UvA IvI a.l.varbanescu@uva.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures

wGo to top

Martijn de Waal

Professor of Play & Civic Media - AUAS b.g.m.de.waal@hva.nl

Lin Wang

Assistant Professor - VU lin.wang@vu.nl
  • Edge computing
  • Networked systems
  • Stream processing

Max Welling

Professor of Machine Learning - UvA | Director - ICAI QUVA | Director - DELTA Lab m.welling@uva.nl
  • Big data
  • Deep learning

Marcel Worring

Professor of Business Analytics - UvA ABS | Associate Professor - UvA IvI | Director - ICAI Amsterdam | Scientific Director - ICAI AIM m.worring@uva.nl
  • Information Visualisation
  • Intelligent Systems
  • Multimedia Analytics

zGo to top

Robert Zwitser

Assistant Professor - UvA r.j.zwitser@uva.nl
  • behavioural data science
  • differential item functioning
  • multistage testing
  • statistical models for educational assessment