Health

Managing information and handling of very large and dynamic datasets is at the core of providing a cost-effective and high-quality healthcare system

Poor information management is widely seen as one of the main bottlenecks in improving healthcare.

Major challenges are:

  • the (semantic) interoperability between systems,
  • intelligent support for medical decision-making,
  • bridging the gap between medical research and clinical care, and
  • providing transparent quality indicators.

Our researchers

Sanne Abeln

Assistant Professor of Bioinformatics - VU s.abeln@vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • Computational Modelling
  • Data Analytics
  • Data Stewardship

Henri Bal

Professor of Computer Science - VU h.e.bal@vu.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Web Semantics

Sander Bohte

ADS Research Project - Scientific Staff Member - CWI s.m.bohte@cwi.nl
  • computational neuroscience
  • Deep learning
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Neural networks

Peter Bosman

Senior Researcher - CWI peter.bosman@cwi.nl
  • deformable image registration
  • evolutionary algorithms
  • Machine Learning
  • multi-objective optimisation
  • radiotherapy treatment planning

Jaap Heringa

Management Team - ADS | Professor of Bioinformatics - VU j.heringa@vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • genome analysis
  • network analysis
  • sequence analysis
  • systems biology

Mark Hoogendoorn

Co-founder - AMDS | Assistant Professor of Artificial Intelligence - VU m.hoogendoorn@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Machine Learning
  • personalised therapies
  • predictive modelling for diseases

Zhisheng Huang

Senior Researcher - VU z.huang@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

Michel Klein

Assistant Professor of AI - VU michel.klein@cs.vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • behavioural data
  • intelligent self-management systems

Ben Kröse

Supervisory Board - ADS | Lector in Digital Life - AUAS b.j.a.krose@hva.nl
  • Ambient robotics
  • Digital Life
  • distributed camera surveillance
  • human-robot interaction
  • visual navigation

Alexander Schönhuth

Professor - CWI a.schoenhuth@cwi.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • Cancer Systems Biology
  • Computational Genomics
  • Statistical Modelling
  • Structural Variant Discovery

Annette ten Teije

Supervisory Board - ADS | Associate Professor - VU CS annette@cs.vu.nl
  • formalisation of medical knowledge
  • Healthcare Information Management
  • Healthcare quality indicators
  • Medical Guidelines

Frank van Harmelen

Professor of Knowledge Representation & Reasoning - VU frank.van.harmelen@cs.vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • information systems
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

Max Welling

Professor of Machine Learning - UvA | Director - ICAI QUVA | Director - DELTA Lab m.welling@uva.nl
  • Big data
  • Deep learning