City Analytics

Citizens are generating masses of data on social media, voicing their opinions and sharing images of their neighbourhoods. Cities have many datasets, e.g., on public space, infrastructure and processes

Data scientists research how end users can gain new, valuable insights to improve city processes and neighbourhoods.

ADS researchers explore the boundaries of data gathering, storage, analytics and applications for cities – with an emphasis on generating valuable insights for both professionals working on city related projects and the citizens.

We work on data science projects with cities in the Netherlands – Amsterdam, Alkmaar, Eindhoven – and  around the world – Beijing, New York, Singapore, Hong Kong.

Our projects
New Yorker Melange (UvA)
CHIEF (HvA FT)
SENSEI (HvA FDMCI, VU)
REPRO (CWI)
BuurtInzicht (Neighbourhood Insights) (HvA, UvA)

Work with us
If you work at a company, municipality or organisation and want to get involved in city related data science projects please connect with us.

Our researchers

Henri Bal

Professor of Computer Science - VU h.e.bal@vu.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Web Semantics

Martijn de Waal

Professor of Play & Civic Media - AUAS b.g.m.de.waal@hva.nl

Elenna Dugundji

Senior Researcher - CWI | Senior Researcher - VU e.r.dugundji@cwi.nl
  • Electric Vehicle Infrastructure
  • Freight Logistics
  • Stochastic Modelling
  • Transportation and Mobility Systems
  • Travel Behaviour

Abdallah El Ali

Tenure Track Researcher - CWI abdallah.el.ali@cwi.nl
  • Affective Computing
  • Human-Computer Interaction
  • Sensing Technology

Inger Leemans

Professor - VU i.b.leemans@vu.nl
  • CULTURAL HERITAGE
  • data perspectives
  • deep data representation
  • historical perspectives

Sabine Niederer

Professor of Visual Methodologies - AUAS s.m.c.niederer@hva.nl
  • Citizen Empowerment
  • data visualisation
  • Digital Media

Nanda Piersma

Management Team - ADS | Professor by special appointment of Urban Analytics - AUAS | Researcher - CWI n.piersma@hva.nl

Stevan Rudinac

Associate Professor - UvA ABS s.rudinac@uva.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Machine Learning for Business

Robert van den Hoed

Lecturer Energy & Innovation - AUAS r.van.den.hoed@hva.nl
  • green ICT
  • Infrastructures
  • Urban technology

Marcel Worring

Professor of Business Analytics - UvA ABS | Associate Professor - UvA IvI | Director - ICAI Amsterdam | Scientific Director - ICAI AIM m.worring@uva.nl
  • Information Visualisation
  • Intelligent Systems
  • Multimedia Analytics