Researchers

Our researchers are experts in a range of disciplines, encompassing business analytics, digital humanities, informatics, life sciences and social sciences. Within these disciplines, we focus our applications specifically related to the Dutch top sectors: city analytics, creative industry, energy, health, intelligence and security, and logistics.

aGo to top

Sanne Abeln

Associate Professor - VU s.abeln@vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • Computational Modelling
  • Data Analytics
  • Data Stewardship
  • Health

Benny Akesson

Professor by Special Appointment of Design Methodologies - UvA k.b.akesson@uva.nl
  • Model-based engineering
  • real-time systems

Abdallah El Ali

Scientific Staff Member - CWI abdallah.el.ali@cwi.nl
  • Affective Computing
  • Human-Computer Interaction
  • Sensing Technology

bGo to top

Henri Bal

Professor of Computer Science - VU h.e.bal@vu.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Web Semantics

Kim Baraka

Assistant professor - VU k.baraka@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • human-robot interaction
  • Machine Learning
  • Social Robotics

Emmanuelle Beauxis-Aussalet

Assistant Professor - VU e.m.a.l.beauxisaussalet@vu.nl
  • Ethical Computing

Adam Belloum

Assistant Professor - UvA A.S.Z.Belloum@uva.nl
  • Data centric computing

Sandjai Bhulai

Professor of Business Analytics - VU s.bhulai@vu.nl
  • dynamic pricing
  • human resource analytics
  • Operational Research
  • social media analytics
  • statistics

Peter Bloem

Postdoc in Knowledge Representation & Reasoning - VU p.bloem@vu.nl
  • Complex systems
  • Deep learning
  • Graph grammars
  • Knowledge graphs
  • Motif extraction

Victor de Boer

Assistant Professor - VU v.de.boer@vu.nl
  • Human-Computer Interaction
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

Sander Bohte

Scientific Staff Member - CWI | Professor of Cognitive Computational Neuroscience - UvA s.m.bohte@cwi.nl
  • computational neuroscience
  • Deep learning
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Neural networks

Peter Boncz

Supervisory Board - ADS | Database Architectures Group, Management Team - CWI | Professor of Large-Scale Analytical Data Management - VU p.boncz@cwi.nl
  • Database Architectures

Hans Borgman

Professor of Information Systems and Digital Business - UvA h.p.borgman@uva.nl
  • Digital Innovation
  • IT Governance
  • Technology Adoption

Herbert Bos

Professor of Computer Systems - VU herbertb@cs.vu.nl
  • Reverse Engineering
  • System Security
  • vulnerabilities in binary software

Evert Bosdriesz

Assistant Professor - VU e.bosdriesz@vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • Biomedical data analytics
  • Computational Biology
  • Health
  • network analysis
  • systems biology

Peter Bosman

Senior Researcher - CWI peter.bosman@cwi.nl
  • deformable image registration
  • evolutionary algorithms
  • Health
  • Machine Learning
  • multi-objective optimisation
  • radiotherapy treatment planning

Peter Boswijk

Professor of Financial Econometrics - UvA h.p.boswijk@uva.nl
  • Econometric Applications of Machine Learning
  • High-Frequency Data
  • Risk Management

Bert Bredeweg

Associate Professor - UvA | Professor of Science Education - AUAS b.bredeweg@hva.nl
  • Artificial intelligence in education
  • Knowledge Representation
  • Qualitative Reasoning
  • Valorisation

cGo to top

Davide Ceolin

Scientific Staff Member - CWI, Human-Centered Data-Analytics davide.ceolin@cwi.nl
  • Data quality
  • deep data
  • trust
  • web data

Pablo Cesar

Group Leader - CWI, Distributed and Interactive Systems | Associate Professor - TU Delft p.s.cesar@cwi.nl
  • Immersive Media
  • multimedia systems
  • Quality of Experience
  • Sensing Technology

Michael Cochez

Assistant Professor - VU CS m.cochez@vu.nl
  • Graphic Learning
  • Knowledge graphs
  • Machine Learning

dGo to top

Yuri Demchenko

Senior Researcher - UvA y.demchenko@uva.nl
  • Big Data Architecture
  • Big Data Security
  • Cloud Computing

Willemijn van Dolen

Professor of Marketing - UvA ABS w.m.vandolen@uva.nl
  • Corporate social responsibility
  • Marketing
  • social media analysis
  • Social services to children

Leo Dorst

Assistant Professor - UvA l.dorst@uva.nl
  • Geometric algebra
  • Image measurement

Elenna Dugundji

Researcher - CWI | Assistant Professor - VU e.r.dugundji@cwi.nl
  • Electric Vehicle Infrastructure
  • Freight Logistics
  • Stochastic Modelling
  • Transportation and Mobility Systems
  • Travel Behaviour

eGo to top

Gusz Eiben

Professor of Computational Intelligence - VU a.e.eiben@vu.nl
  • Adaptive Collective Systems
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Artificial Life
  • Evolutionary Computing
  • evolutionary robotics

fGo to top

Anton Feenstra

Assistant Professor - VU feenstra@chem.vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • Health
  • STRUCTURAL BIOLOGY
  • systems biology

Frans Feldberg

Professor of Data-Driven Business Innovation - VU j.f.m.feldberg@vu.nl
  • Data-Driven Business Model Innovation
  • decision support systems
  • Digital Innovation

Eliseo Ferrante

Assistant Professor - VU e.ferrante@vu.nl
  • Adaptive Collective Systems
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Artificial Life
  • evolutionary robotics
  • swarm robotics

gGo to top

Efstratios Gavves

Associate Professor - UvA egavves@uva.nl
  • computer vision
  • Deep learning

Zeno Geradts

Professor by Special Appointment of Forensic Data Science - UvA z.geradts@uva.nl
  • Forensic data science

Charlotte Gerritsen

Assistant Professor - VU CS cs.gerritsen@vu.nl
  • Agent-based modeling
  • Social AI

Theo Gevers

Professor of Computer Vision - UvA th.gevers@uva.nl
  • computer vision
  • Deep learning
  • emotion recognition
  • object recognition

Sennay Ghebreab

Associate Professor - UvA IvI S.Ghebreab@uva.nl
  • Civic AI
  • Neuroinformatics

Noud van Giersbergen

Supervisory Board - ADS | Associate Professor - UvA ABS n.p.a.vangiersbergen@uva.nl
  • Business Analytics
  • Econometric Theory

Peter Grünwald

Group Leader - CWI, Machine Learning | Professor of Statistical Learning - Leiden University peter.grunwald@cwi.nl
  • Deep learning
  • information theory
  • minimum description length
  • statistics

Clemens Grelck

Associate Professor - UvA c.grelck@uva.nl
  • computer architecture
  • green ICT
  • High Performance Distributed Computing

Iris Groen

Assistant Professor - UvA i.i.a.groen@uva.nl
  • computational neuroscience
  • Deep learning
  • human perception
  • Scene understanding

Paola Grosso

Associate Professor - UvA p.grosso@uva.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures
  • green ICT
  • Optical Networking

Paul Groth

Supervisory Board - ADS | Professor of Algorithmic Data Science - UvA p.t.groth@uva.nl
  • data engineering
  • Intelligent Systems
  • Knowledge graphs
  • semantic web

Jonne Guyt

Assistant Professor - UvA ABS j.y.guyt@uva.nl
  • Individual level choice models
  • Marketing
  • retailing
  • scanner panel

hGo to top

Aart van Halteren

Professor by special appointment - VU a.t.van.halteren@vu.nl
  • Behaviour
  • Health
  • Lifestyle interventions

Hinda Haned

Professor by Special Appointment of Data Science - UvA h.haned@uva.nl
  • data-driven decision making
  • Intelligent Systems
  • responsible data science

Lynda Hardman

Director - ADS | Manager Research & Strategy - CWI, Human-Centered Data-Analytics | Professor of Multimedia Discourse Interaction - UU lynda.hardman@cwi.nl
  • Digital Media
  • Information Access
  • Linked Data
  • Visualisation

Frank van Harmelen

Professor of Knowledge Representation & Reasoning - VU frank.van.harmelen@cs.vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • information systems
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

Jurjen R. Helmus

Senior Researcher - HvA j.r.helmus@hva.nl
  • AI
  • IoT
  • Predictive Maintenance
  • Smart Asset Managmenet

Jaap Heringa

Management Team - ADS | Professor of Bioinformatics - VU j.heringa@vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • genome analysis
  • Health
  • network analysis
  • sequence analysis
  • systems biology

Koen Hindriks

Professor of Artificial Intelligence - VU k.v.hindriks@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • autonomous systems
  • Health
  • Knowledge Representation
  • ROBOTICS

Alfons Hoekstra

Professor of Computational Science and Engineering - UvA a.hoekstra@uva.nl
  • computational science
  • Health

Rutger Hofman

Research Programmer - VU rutger@cs.vu.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Machine Learning

Laura Hollink

Scientific Staff Member - CWI l.hollink@cwi.nl
  • Digital Media
  • Linked Data
  • Usage data

Herke van Hoof

Assistant Professor - UvA h.c.vanhoof@uva.nl
  • Machine Learning
  • reinforcement learning
  • robot models

Mark Hoogendoorn

Co-founder - AMDS | Professor of Quantitative Data Analytics - VU m.hoogendoorn@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Machine Learning
  • personalised therapies
  • predictive modelling for diseases

Zhisheng Huang

Senior Researcher - VU z.huang@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Health
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

iGo to top

Alexandru Iosup

Professor of Massivizing Computer Systems - VU a.iosup@vu.nl
  • Cloud Computing
  • data management systems architectures
  • High Performance Distributed Computing

kGo to top

Michael Kaisers

Tenured Researcher - CWI kaisers@cwi.nl
  • Energy systems
  • Game Theory
  • Multi-agent reinforcement learning
  • Sample-based planning

Drona Kandhai

Professor by Special Appointment in Computational Finance - UvA b.d.kandhai@uva.nl
  • Complex systems
  • computational finance
  • financial risk
  • portfolio optimization

Evangelos Kanoulas

Associate Professor - UvA e.kanoulas@uva.nl
  • Information Retrieval
  • Natural Language Understanding
  • Text mining
  • Web search

Martin Kersten

CWI-Fellow - CWI | Professor - UvA martin.kersten@cwi.nl
  • Database Architectures
  • query optimisation

Michel Klein

Assistant Professor - VU michel.klein@cs.vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • behavioural data
  • Health
  • intelligent self-management systems

Sander Klous

Professor in Big Data Analytics - UvA | Partner - KPMG s.klous@uva.nl
  • Big data
  • data processing technologies
  • High Performance Distributed Computing

Umut Konus

Associate Professor - UvA ABS u.konus@uva.nl
  • Attribution Models
  • Choice Models
  • Customer Journeys
  • Mobile and Online Marketing
  • Omnichannel Marketing

Ger Koole

Professor of Business Analytics - VU ger.koole@vu.nl
  • Applied Probability
  • Health
  • Stochastic Optimisation

Wouter M. Koolen-Wijkstra

Scientific Staff Member - CWI wmkoolen@cwi.nl
  • Bandits
  • Deep learning
  • Game Theory
  • Learning Theory

Frank Kresin

Supervisory Board - ADS | Dean of the Faculty of Digital Media and Creative Industry - AUAS f.j.kresin@hva.nl
  • Citizen Science
  • Digital Innovation
  • Responsible Design

Tobias Kuhn

Assistant Professor - VU t.kuhn@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Bioinformatics
  • Computational Linguistics
  • natural language
  • semantic web

Florian Kunneman

Assistant Professor - VU f.a.kunneman@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Conversational Agents
  • Natural Language Processing

lGo to top

Cees de Laat

Professor in Systems and Network Engineering - UvA delaat@uva.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures

Patricia Lago

Professor of Software & Services - VU p.lago@vu.nl
  • cloud migration
  • Green IT and Sustainability management
  • Service oriented architecting
  • software engineering

Inger Leemans

Professor - VU i.b.leemans@vu.nl
  • CULTURAL HERITAGE
  • data perspectives
  • deep data representation
  • historical perspectives

Mike Lees

Associate Professor - UvA m.h.lees@uva.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • computational science
  • Multi-agent systems

Edo Roos Lindgreen

Professor of Data Science in Auditing - UvA e.e.o.rooslindgreen@uva.nl
  • Auditing
  • information security
  • privacy

Ling Shao

Scientific Director of AIM Lab - UvA ling.shao@ieee.org
  • computer vision
  • Deep learning
  • Medical Imaging
  • Vision and Language

mGo to top

Hannes Mühleisen

Scientific Staff Member - CWI | Assistant Professor - UvA hannes.muehleisen@cwi.nl
  • Database Architectures
  • statistics

Sara Magliacane

Assistant Professor - UvA s.magliacane@uva.nl
  • active learning
  • Causality
  • Transfer learning

Ivano Malavolta

Assistant Professor - VU i.malavolta@vu.nl
  • mobile-enabled systems
  • Model-Driven Engineering
  • software architecture
  • software engineering for robotics

Stefan Manegold

Professor of Database Management; Scientific Staff Member - CWI stefan.manegold@cwi.nl
  • Database Architectures

Ilya Markov

Assistant Professor - UvA | Scientific Director - ICAI AIRLab i.markov@uva.nl
  • Click Models
  • Information Retrieval
  • reinforcement learning
  • Search Engines
  • Web search

Maarten Marx

Assistant Professor - UvA m.j.marx@uva.nl
  • political data

Rob van der Mei

Professor of Applied Mathematics - VU | R&D Manager - CWI r.d.van.der.mei@cwi.nl
  • analysis of communication networks
  • Logistics
  • Networks and Algorithms
  • Performance Modelling
  • Stochastics

Pascal Mettes

Assistant Professor - UvA P.S.M.Mettes@uva.nl
  • computer vision
  • Deep learning
  • Video understanding

Christof Monz

Associate Professor - UvA c.monz@uva.nl
  • Machine translation
  • Text mining

nGo to top

Eric Nalisnick

Assistant professor - UvA e.t.nalisnick@uva.nl
  • Anomaly detection
  • Bayesian statistics
  • Deep learning
  • Generative modeling

Sabine Niederer

Professor of Visual Methodologies - AUAS s.m.c.niederer@hva.nl
  • Citizen Empowerment
  • data visualisation
  • Digital Media

oGo to top

Jacco van Ossenbruggen

Group Leader - CWI, Human-Centered Data-Analytics | Associate Professor - VU CS jacco.van.ossenbruggen@cwi.nl
  • CULTURAL HERITAGE
  • Information Access
  • Linked Data
  • responsible data science
  • Web Semantics

pGo to top

Eric Pauwels

Group Leader - CWI, Intelligent and Autonomous Systems eric.pauwels@cwi.nl
  • Intelligent Systems

Nanda Piersma

Management Team - ADS | Professor by special appointment of Urban Analytics - AUAS | Researcher - CWI n.piersma@hva.nl
  • Applied AI
  • Responsible IT
  • Urban Analytics

Andy Pimentel

Professor of Parallel Computing Systems - UvA a.d.pimentel@uva.nl
  • embedded systems
  • Modelling and Simulation
  • Multi- and manycore computer systems
  • System exploration and optimisation

Solon Pissis

Senior Researcher - CWI solon.pissis@cwi.nl
  • Algorithms data mining
  • Algorithms Data structures string
  • Bioinformatics

Marijn Plomp

Assistant Professor; Programme Manager - VU m.g.a.plomp@vu.nl
  • Chain digitisation
  • Chain-Computerisation

Marten Postma

Assistant professor - UvA m.postma@uva.nl
  • Microscopy

qGo to top

Rick Quax

Assistant Professor - UvA r.quax@uva.nl
  • Causality
  • dynamical systems
  • emergent phenomena
  • information theory
  • synergy

rGo to top

Maarten de Rijke

Founding Director - ADS | University Professor of Artificial Intelligence and Information Retrieval - UvA | Director - ICAI m.derijke@uva.nl
  • Information Retrieval
  • Search Engines
  • Text mining

Valentin Robu

Scientific Staff Member - CWI | Associate Professor - TU Delft v.robu@cwi.nl
  • Algorithmic Game theory
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Machine Learning
  • Smart energy systems

Stevan Rudinac

Associate Professor - UvA ABS s.rudinac@uva.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Machine Learning for Business

sGo to top

Clarisa Sánchez

Full Professor of AI and Health - UvA IvI c.i.sanchezgutierrez@uva.nl
  • Deep learning
  • Health
  • Medical image analysis

Marc Salomon

Management Team - ADS | Professor of Decision Sciences - UvA ABS m.salomon@uva.nl
  • Applied Mathematics
  • Business Economics
  • Operational Research

Sebastian Schelter

Assistant Professor - UvA s.schelter@uva.nl
  • Data management for machine learning
  • Data systems
  • scalable machine learning

Stefan Schlobach

Associate Professor - VU CS k.s.schlobach@vu.nl
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

Peter Sloot

Professor of Computational Science - UvA IvI p.m.a.sloot@uva.nl
  • biomedicine
  • Complex Adaptive Systems
  • computational science

Cees Snoek

Professor of Intelligent Sensory Information Systems - UvA IvI | Director - ICAI QUVA lab cgmsnoek@uva.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • image retrieval
  • Intelligent Systems
  • video retrieval
  • Web Semantics

tGo to top

Annette ten Teije

Supervisory Board - ADS | Full Professor - VU CS annette@cs.vu.nl
  • formalisation of medical knowledge
  • Health
  • Healthcare Information Management
  • Healthcare quality indicators
  • Medical Guidelines

Bas Teusink

Professor of Systems Bioinformatics - VU b.teusink@vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • Health
  • systems biology

Jakub Tomczak

Assistant Professor - VU j.m.tomczak@vu.nl
  • Deep learning
  • Generative modeling
  • Health
  • Machine Learning

Animesh Trivedi

Assistant Professor - VU CS a.trivedi@vu.nl
  • Cloud Computing
  • Distributed systems
  • Storage architectures

uGo to top

Niek van Ulzen

Programme and Data Manager at the faculty of Physical Activity, Sport & Nutrition - AUAS n.r.van.ulzen@hva.nl
  • data manager
  • ehealth
  • sports analytics

Jacopo Urbani

Assistant Professor - VU CS | Associated Member - CWI, Database Architectures jacopo@cs.vu.nl
  • Knowledge Representation
  • Linked Data

vGo to top

Ana Varbanescu

Associate Professor - UvA IvI a.l.varbanescu@uva.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures

Vítor V. Vasconcelos

Assistant Professor - UvA v.v.vasconcelos@uva.nl
  • Complex Adaptive Systems
  • computational science
  • computational social science

Tibert Verhagen

Full professor - AUAS t.verhagen@hva.nl
  • Emerging digital technology
  • information systems
  • ROBOTICS
  • Technology Adoption

Irene Viola

Tenure track researcher - CWI irene@cwi.nl
  • Immersive Media
  • multimedia systems
  • Quality of Experience

wGo to top

Martijn de Waal

Professor of Play & Civic Media - AUAS b.g.m.de.waal@hva.nl

Lin Wang

Assistant Professor - VU lin.wang@vu.nl
  • Edge computing
  • Networked systems
  • Stream processing

Max Welling

Professor of Machine Learning - UvA | Director - ICAI QUVA | Director - DELTA Lab m.welling@uva.nl
  • Big data
  • Deep learning

Marcel Worring

Supervisory Board - ADS | Professor of Business Analytics - UvA ABS | Associate Professor - UvA IvI | Director - ICAI Amsterdam | Scientific Director - ICAI AIM m.worring@uva.nl
  • Information Visualisation
  • Intelligent Systems
  • Multimedia Analytics

yGo to top

Shaodi You

Assistant Professor - UvA s.you@uva.nl
  • computer vision
  • Machine Learning
  • Physics Based Vision

zGo to top

Gábor Závodszky

Assistant professor - UvA g.zavodszky@uva.nl
  • Computational Biomedicine
  • High-performance Computing

Zhiming Zhao

Assistant Professor - UvA z.zhao@uva.nl
  • big data infrastructure
  • Cloud Computing
  • data management