Deep Learning

A form of machine learning with neural networks, loosely inspired by how neurons process information in the brain

It is a combined term for algorithms that both train and use very deep neural networks.

Deep learning is at the intersection of computer science, computational statistics and artificial intelligence and focuses on the design, implementation and evaluation of algorithms that allow computerised systems to derive complex models from incoming data.

Our researchers

Zeynep Akata

Assistant Professor, UvA Z.Akata@uva.nl
  • computer vision
  • Machine Learning

Peter Bloem

AAA Postdoc - VU p.bloem@vu.nl
  • Complex systems
  • Graph grammars
  • Knowledge graphs
  • Machine Learning
  • Motif extraction

Peter Grünwald

Machine Learning Group Lead - CWI Peter.Grunwald@cwi.nl
  • information theory
  • Machine Learning
  • minimum description length
  • statistics

Wouter M. Koolen

Scientific Staff Member - Machine Learning Group - CWI wmkoolen@cwi.nl
  • Bandits
  • Game Theory
  • Learning Theory
  • Machine Learning

Joris Mooij

Assistant Professor - UvA J.M.Mooij@uva.nl
  • approximate inference
  • causal discovery
  • Machine Learning

Max Welling

ADS Advisory Board - Professor in Machine Learning - UvA M.Welling@uva.nl
  • Big data
  • Deep learning
  • Machine Learning