Machine Learning

How computer programs learn & understand data & make useful predictions  

ADS Machine Learning researchers focus on how computer programs can learn from and understand data, and thus make useful predictions based on this data.

Our research is at the intersection of computer science, computational statistics and artificial intelligence and focuses on the design, implementation and evaluation of algorithms that allow computerised systems to derive complex models from incoming data.

 

Our researchers

Zeynep Akata

Assistant Professor, UvA Z.Akata@uva.nl
  • computer vision
  • Deep learning

Peter Bloem

AAA Postdoc - VU p.bloem@vu.nl
  • Complex systems
  • Deep learning
  • Graph grammars
  • Knowledge graphs
  • Motif extraction

Peter Grünwald

Machine Learning Group Lead - CWI Peter.Grunwald@cwi.nl
  • Deep learning
  • information theory
  • minimum description length
  • statistics

Wouter M. Koolen

Scientific Staff Member - Machine Learning Group - CWI wmkoolen@cwi.nl
  • Bandits
  • Deep learning
  • Game Theory
  • Learning Theory

Joris Mooij

Assistant Professor - UvA J.M.Mooij@uva.nl
  • approximate inference
  • causal discovery
  • Deep learning

Max Welling

ADS Advisory Board - Professor in Machine Learning - UvA M.Welling@uva.nl
  • Big data
  • Deep learning