Our researchers

Sanne Abeln

Assistant Professor Bioinformatics - VU s.abeln@vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • Computational Modelling
  • Data Analytics
  • Data Stewardship

Sander Bohte

ADS Research Project - Scientific Staff Member - CWI S.M.Bohte@cwi.nl
  • computational neuroscience
  • Deep learning
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Neural networks

Peter Bosman

Senior Researcher - CWI Peter.Bosman@cwi.nl
  • deformable image registration
  • evolutionary algorithms
  • Machine Learning
  • multi-objective optimisation
  • radiotherapy treatment planning

Iwan de Esch

AAA Project Leader - Associate Professor of Medicinal Chemistry - VU i.de.esch@vu.nl
  • Biocomputational Chemistry
  • drug innovation

Chris de Graaf

AAA Project Leader - Assistant Professor Medicinal Chemistry - VU c.de.graaf@vu.nl
  • computational medicinal chemistry
  • molecular pharmacology
  • protein-ligand interactions

Anton Feenstra

Assistant Professor Bioinformatics - VU Feenstra@chem.vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • STRUCTURAL BIOLOGY
  • systems biology

Jaap Heringa

AAA Project Leader - Professor of Bioinformatics - VU heringa@cs.vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • genome analysis
  • network analysis
  • sequence analysis
  • systems biology

Gunnar Klau

Research Group Leader - CWI - Professor - VU gunnar.klau@cwi.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • Combinatorial Algorithms
  • Computational Biology
  • Network Biology

Roeland Merks

Scientific Staff Member - CWI - Professor of Multiscale Mathematical Biology - ULeiden Roeland.Merks@cwi.nl
  • Modelling and Simulation
  • Multiscale Mathematical Biology
  • systems biology

Alexander Schönhuth

CWI Alexander.schönhuth@cwi.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • Cancer Systems Biology
  • Computational Genomics
  • Statistical Modelling
  • Structural Variant Discovery

Age Smilde

AAA Project Leader - Professor of Biosystems Data Analysis - UvA A.K.Smilde@uva.nl
  • systems biology

Bas Teusink

AAA Project Leader - Professor in Systems Bioinformatics - VU bas.teusink@vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • systems biology

Max Welling

ADS Advisory Board - Professor in Machine Learning - UvA M.Welling@uva.nl
  • Big data
  • Deep learning
  • Machine Learning

Bart Westerman

AAA Project Leader - VUmc a.westerman@vumc.nl
  • Cancer genomics
  • Cancer research
  • oncogenes
  • transcriptomics

Tom Würdinger

AAA Project Leader - Co-director Neuro-oncology Research - VUmc t. wurdinger@vumc. nl
  • Cancer genomics
  • Cancer research
  • neuro-oncology