Informatics & AI

Within ADS, our Informatics & Artificial Intelligence (AI) research focusses on curiosity-driven and use-inspired fundamental research in Computer Science

This involves complex information systems at large, with a focus on Collaborative, Data Driven, Computational and Intelligent Systems, all with a strong interactive component. Our researchers maintain strategic multi-disciplinary research links both inside and outside the ADS network.

Our ADS researchers within Informatics & AI span multiple faculties and knowledge institutions:

Our key researchers in this discipline are summarised below:

Our researchers

Sanne Abeln

Assistant Professor Bioinformatics - VU s.abeln@vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • Computational Modelling
  • Data Analytics
  • Data Stewardship

Hamideh Afsarmanesh

Professor Computer Science - UvA h.afsarmanesh@uva.nl
  • Federated Collaborative Databases
  • Semantic Information Modelling
  • Virtual Organisations

Zeynep Akata

Assistant Professor, UvA Z.Akata@uva.nl
  • computer vision
  • Deep learning

Henri Bal

ADS Supervisory Board - Professor of Computer Science - VU h.e.bal@vu.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Web Semantics

Peter Bloem

AAA Postdoc - VU p.bloem@vu.nl
  • Complex systems
  • Deep learning
  • Graph grammars
  • Knowledge graphs
  • Motif extraction

Sander Bohte

ADS Research Project - Scientific Staff Member - CWI S.M.Bohte@cwi.nl
  • computational neuroscience
  • Deep learning
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Neural networks

Peter Boncz

ADS Supervisory Board - Database Architectures Group & Management Team - CWI - Professor of Large-Scale Analytical Data Management - VU P.Boncz@cwi.nl
  • Database Architectures

Herbert Bos

Professor of Computer Systems - VU HerbertB@cs.vu.nl
  • Reverse Engineering
  • System Security
  • vulnerabilities in binary software

Peter Bosman

Senior Researcher - CWI Peter.Bosman@cwi.nl
  • deformable image registration
  • evolutionary algorithms
  • Machine Learning
  • multi-objective optimisation
  • radiotherapy treatment planning

Bert Bredeweg

Associate Professor - UvA B.Bredeweg@uva.nl
  • Artificial intelligence in education
  • Knowledge Representation
  • Qualitative Reasoning
  • Valorisation

Davide Ceolin

Scientific Staff Member - Information Access - CWI Davide.Ceolin@cwi.nl
  • Data quality
  • deep data
  • trust
  • web data

Pablo Cesar

Group Lead - CWI P.S.Cesar@cwi.nl
  • Immersive Media
  • multimedia systems
  • Quality of Experience
  • Sensing Technology

Victor de Boer

Assistant Professor - VU v.de.boer@vu.nl
  • Human-Computer Interaction
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

Cees de Laat

Professor System and Network Engineering - UvA delaat@uva.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures

Maarten de Rijke

AAA Programme Director - Professor of Information Retrieval - UvA M.deRijke@uva.nl
  • Information Retrieval
  • Search Engines
  • Text mining

Francesca De Simone

Tenure Track Researcher - CWI Francesca.De.Simone@cwi.nl
  • Immersive Media
  • multimedia systems
  • Quality of Experience

Yuri Demchenko

Senior Researcher - UvA y.demchenko@uva.nl
  • Big Data Architecture
  • Big Data Security
  • Cloud Computing

Elenna Dugundji

Senior Researcher - CWI-VU e.r.dugundji@cwi.nl
  • Electric Vehicle Infrastructure
  • Freight Logistics
  • Stochastic Modelling
  • Transportation and Mobility Systems
  • Travel Behaviour

Gusz Eiben

Professor of Computational Intelligence - VU a.e.eiben@vu.nl
  • Adaptive Collective Systems
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Artificial Life
  • Evolutionary Computing
  • evolutionary robotics

Abdallah El Ali

Tenure Track Researcher - CWI Abdallah.El.Ali@cwi.nl
  • Affective Computing
  • Human-Computer Interaction
  • Sensing Technology

Anton Feenstra

Assistant Professor Bioinformatics - VU Feenstra@chem.vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • STRUCTURAL BIOLOGY
  • systems biology

Efstratios Gavves

Assistant Professor - UvA egavves@uva.nl
  • computer vision
  • Deep learning

Zeno Geradts

Professor by Special Appointment - UvA z.geradts@uva.nl
  • Forensic data science

Theo Gevers

Professor of Computer Vision - UvA th.gevers@uva.nl
  • computer vision
  • Deep learning
  • emotion recognition
  • object recognition

Clemens Grelck

University Lecturer - UvA c.grelck@uva.nl
  • computer architecture
  • green ICT
  • High Performance Distributed Computing

Paola Grosso

Assistant Professor - UvA p.grosso@uva.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures
  • green ICT
  • Optical Networking

Peter Grünwald

Professor of Statistical Learning - Machine Learning Group Lead - CWI Peter.Grunwald@cwi.nl
  • Deep learning
  • information theory
  • minimum description length
  • statistics

Lynda Hardman

ADS Director - Information Access Group - CWI, Professor of Multimedia Discourse Interaction - UU Lynda.Hardman@cwi.nl
  • Digital Media
  • Information Access
  • Linked Data
  • Visualisation

Jaap Heringa

ADS Management Team - Professor of Bioinformatics - VU j.heringa@vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • genome analysis
  • network analysis
  • sequence analysis
  • systems biology

Alfons Hoekstra

Associate Professor - UvA A.Hoekstra@uva.nl
  • computational science

Rutger Hofman

ADS Assignment - Infrastructures - Research programmer - VU rutger@cs.vu.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Machine Learning

Laura Hollink

ADS Research Project - Scientific Staff Member - CWI l.hollink@cwi.nl
  • Digital Media
  • Linked Data
  • Usage data

Mark Hoogendoorn

AAA Project Leader - Assistant Professor of Artificial Intelligence - VU m.hoogendoorn@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Machine Learning
  • personalised therapies
  • predictive modelling for diseases

Zhisheng Huang

Senior Researcher - VU zhg300@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

Alexandru Iosup

Professor in Massivizing Computer Systems - VU A.Iosup@vu.nl
  • Cloud Computing
  • data management systems architectures
  • High Performance Distributed Computing

Bart A. Kamphorst

AAA Postdoc - VU - Philips Healthcare b.a.kamphorst@vu.nl
  • Behaviour Change
  • E-Coaching Systems
  • ehealth
  • Machine Learning
  • Population Health

Evangelos Kanoulas

Programme Manager of ADS MSc - Professor of Text Analytics & Information Retrieval - UvA e.kanoulas@uva.nl
  • Information Retrieval
  • Natural Language Understanding
  • Text mining
  • Web search

Martin Kersten

Fellow - CWI - Professor - UvA Martin.Kersten@cwi.nl
  • Database Architectures
  • query optimisation

Michel Klein

Assistant Professor of AI - VU michel.klein@cs.vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • behavioural data
  • intelligent self-management systems

Wouter M. Koolen

Scientific Staff Member - Machine Learning Group - CWI wmkoolen@cwi.nl
  • Bandits
  • Deep learning
  • Game Theory
  • Learning Theory

Ben Krose

Professor in Digital Health - AUAS-UvA b.j.a.krose@hva.nl
  • Ambient robotics
  • Digital Life
  • distributed camera surveillance
  • human-robot interaction
  • visual navigation

Benno Kruit

AAA PhD - PhD Student - CWI-VU B.B.Kruit@cwi.nl
  • Database Architectures

Tobias Kuhn

Assistant Professor - VU kuhntobias@gmail.com
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Bioinformatics
  • Computational Linguistics
  • natural language
  • semantic web

Patricia Lago

ADS Postgraduate Education and Internal Connections - Professor Software & Services - VU p.lago@vu.nl
  • cloud migration
  • Green IT and Sustainability management
  • Service oriented architecting
  • software engineering

Mike Lees

Assistant Professor - UvA m.h.lees@uva.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • computational science
  • Multi-agent systems

Ivano Malavolta

Assistant Professor - VU ivanomalavolta@gmail.com
  • mobile-enabled systems
  • Model-Driven Engineering
  • software architecture
  • software engineering for robotics

Stefan Manegold

ADS Assignment - Database Management - Scientific Staff Member - CWI Stefan.Manegold@cwi.nl
  • Database Architectures

Maarten Marx

ADS Research Project - UvA M.J.Marx@uva.nl
  • political data

Roeland Merks

Scientific Staff Member - CWI - Professor of Multiscale Mathematical Biology - ULeiden Roeland.Merks@cwi.nl
  • Modelling and Simulation
  • Multiscale Mathematical Biology
  • systems biology

Christof Monz

Associate Professor - UvA c.monz@uva.nl
  • Machine translation
  • Text mining

Joris Mooij

Assistant Professor - UvA J.M.Mooij@uva.nl
  • approximate inference
  • causal discovery
  • Deep learning

Hannes Mühleisen

Scientific Staff Member - CWI & Assistant Professor - VU Hannes.Muehleisen@cwi.nl
  • Database Architectures
  • statistics

Eric Pauwels

ADS Assignment - Energy - Group Leader - CWI Eric.Pauwels@cwi.nl
  • Intelligent Systems

Andy Pimentel

Associate Professor - UvA A.D.Pimentel@uva.nl
  • embedded systems
  • Modelling and Simulation
  • Multi- and manycore computer systems
  • System exploration and optimisation

Hajo Reijers

Professor in Business Informatics - VU h.a.reijers@vu.nl
  • business process improvement
  • business process management
  • conceptual modelling
  • workflow technology

Diederik Roijers

Assistant Professor in Computational Intelligence - VU d.m.roijers@vu.nl
  • Evolutionary Computing
  • Machine Learning
  • multi-objective decision making
  • reinforcement learning and planning

Stevan Rudinac

Assistant Professor - UvA s.rudinac@uva.nl
  • computer vision
  • Information Retrieval
  • Information Visualisation
  • Machine Learning
  • Multimedia Analytics

Stefan Schlobach

Associate Professor - VU k.s.schlobach@vu.nl
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

Alexander Schönhuth

CWI Alexander.schönhuth@cwi.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • Cancer Systems Biology
  • Computational Genomics
  • Statistical Modelling
  • Structural Variant Discovery

Guus Schreiber

Professor of Computer Science - VU guus.schreiber@vu.nl
  • Linked Data
  • Multimedia Analytics
  • Web Semantics

Peter Sloot

Professor of Computational Science - UvA P.M.A.Sloot@uva.nl
  • biomedicine
  • Complex Adaptive Systems
  • computational science

Arnold Smeulders

Professor of Multimedia Information Analysis - Director of QUVA Lab - UvA A.W.M.Smeulders@uva.nl
  • computer vision
  • content-based image
  • Intelligent Systems
  • multimedia information processing
  • video retrieval

Cees Snoek

Professor of Intelligent Sensory Information Systems - UvA cgmsnoek@uva.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • image retrieval
  • Intelligent Systems
  • video retrieval
  • Web Semantics

Annette ten Teije

ADS Health Assignment - Associate Professor Knowledge Representation and Reasoning - VU annette@cs.vu.nl
  • formalisation of medical knowledge
  • Healthcare Information Management
  • Healthcare quality indicators
  • Medical Guidelines

Bas Teusink

AAA Project Leader - Professor in Systems Bioinformatics - VU bas.teusink@vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • systems biology

Jacopo Urbani

AAA Project Leader - Assistant Professor of Computer Science - VU jacopo@cs.vu.nl
  • Knowledge Representation
  • Linked Data

Rob van der Mei

Professor of Applied Mathematics VU - R&D Manager CWI R.D.van.der.Mei@cwi.nl
  • analysis of communication networks
  • Logistics
  • Networks and Algorithms
  • Performance Modelling
  • Stochastics

Frank van Harmelen

AAA Programme Director - Professor in Knowledge Representation & Reasoning - VU frank.van.harmelen@cs.vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • information systems
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

Herke van Hoof

Assistant Professor - UvA h.c.vanhoof@uva.nl
  • Machine Learning
  • reinforcement learning
  • robot models

Jacco van Ossenbruggen

ADS Research Project - Group Leader - CWI Jacco.van.Ossenbruggen@cwi.nl
  • CULTURAL HERITAGE
  • Information Access
  • Linked Data
  • Web Semantics

Ana Varbanescu

Assistant Professor - Computer Systems Architecture - UvA A.L.Varbanescu@uva.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures

Max Welling

ADS Supervisory Board - Professor in Machine Learning - UvA M.Welling@uva.nl
  • Big data
  • Deep learning

Marcel Worring

Professor Business Analytics - Associate Professor Informatics - UvA M.Worring@uva.nl
  • Information Visualisation
  • Intelligent Systems
  • Multimedia Analytics