Digital Humanities

Huge collections of study material are available to humanities researchers  

Though getting access to, processing, analysing & deriving knowledge from such collections is difficult due to limited availability of dedicated tools. Our ADS researchers within Digital Humanities have a number of ongoing projects which seek to develop these tools. Our researchers span multiple faculties and knowledge institutions:

and have strong connections with local industry.

Our key researchers in this discipline are summarised below:

 

 

 

Our researchers

Lora Aroyo

Creative Industry - Professor of Computer Science - VU lora.aroyo@vu.nl
  • CULTURAL HERITAGE
  • recommendation systems
  • Web Semantics

Rens Bod

AAA Project Leader - Professor of Digital Humanities - UvA L.W.M.Bod@uva.nl
  • computational literary studies
  • computational musicology
  • digital aesthetics
  • natural language cognition

Pablo Cesar

Group Lead - CWI P.S.Cesar@cwi.nl
  • Immersive Media
  • multimedia systems
  • QoE
  • Sensing Technology

Victor de Boer

Assistant Professor - VU v.de.boer@vu.nl
  • Human-Computer Interaction
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

Laura Hollink

ADS Research Project - Scientific Staff Member - CWI l.hollink@cwi.nl
  • Digital Media
  • Linked Data
  • Usage data

Inger Leemans

AAA Project Leader - Professor of Cultural History - VU i.b.leemans@vu.nl
  • CULTURAL HERITAGE
  • data perspectives
  • deep data representation
  • historical perspectives

Sabine Niederer

ADS Advisory board - Director of CREATE-IT - AUAS s.m.c.niederer@hva.nl
  • Citizen Empowerment
  • data visualisation
  • Digital Media

Julia Noordegraaf

AAA Project Leader - Professor of Digital Heritage - UvA J.J.Noordegraaf@uva.nl
  • digital heritage

Guus Schreiber

Professor of Computer Science - VU guus.schreiber@vu.nl
  • Linked Data
  • Multimedia Analytics
  • Web Semantics

Jacco van Ossenbruggen

ADS Research Project - Group Leader - CWI Jacco.van.Ossenbruggen@cwi.nl
  • CULTURAL HERITAGE
  • Information Access
  • Linked Data
  • Web Semantics

Piek Vossen

AAA Project Leader - Professor of Computational Lexicology - VU piek.vossen@vu.nl
  • Computational Lexicon
  • Computational Linguistics
  • Language Technology
  • Ontologies
  • WordNets

Marcel Worring

Professor Business Analytics - Associate Professor Informatics - UvA M.Worring@uva.nl
  • Information Visualisation
  • Intelligent Systems
  • Multimedia Analytics