Intelligence and Security

Intelligence and security are moving from an analogue to a digital world

Evidence in complex criminal cases is now mainly comprised of digital data, the volume of which is growing exponentially, e.g., texts, images, video and audio recordings.

In the Netherlands, the police and tax authorities together handle an estimated 10.000 cases a year each of which – on average – 4 terabytes of data, a million files and 10 million traces. The volume and heterogeneity of the data impacts all aspects of the security process.

ADS works in close collaboration with the Co van Ledden Hulsebosch Centre for Forensic Science to develop methods for handling large amounts of data and helping investigators to find evidence in such collections.

Our researchers

Ben Krose

Professor in Digital Health - HvA-UvA b.j.a.krose@hva.nl
  • Ambient robotics
  • Digital Life
  • distributed camera surveillance
  • human-robot interaction
  • visual navigation

Sander Bohte

ADS Research Project - Scientific Staff Member - CWI S.M.Bohte@cwi.nl
  • computational neuroscience
  • Deep learning
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Neural networks

Herbert Bos

Professor of Computer Systems - VU HerbertB@cs.vu.nl
  • Reverse Engineering
  • System Security
  • vulnerabilities in binary software

Cees de Laat

Professor System and Network Engineering - UvA delaat@uva.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures

Maarten de Rijke

ADS Director - Professor of Information Retrieval - UvA M.deRijke@uva.nl
  • Information Retrieval
  • Search Engines
  • Text mining

Zeno Geradts

Professor by Special Appointment - UvA z.geradts@uva.nl
  • Forensic data science

Spyros Voulgaris

Assistant Professor VU spyros@cs.vu.nl
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Networks and Algorithms

Marcel Worring

Professor Business Analytics - Associate Professor Informatics - UvA M.Worring@uva.nl
  • Information Visualisation
  • Intelligent Systems
  • Multimedia Analytics