Health

Managing information and handling of very large and dynamic datasets is at the core of providing a cost-effective and high-quality healthcare system

Poor information management is widely seen as one of the main bottlenecks in improving healthcare.

Major challenges are:

  • the (semantic) interoperability between systems,
  • intelligent support for medical decision-making,
  • bridging the gap between medical research and clinical care, and
  • providing transparent quality indicators.

Our researchers

Sanne Abeln

Assistant Professor Bioinformatics - VU s.abeln@vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • Computational Modelling
  • Data Analytics
  • Data Stewardship

Henri Bal

ADS Advisory Board - Professor of Computer Science - VU h.e.bal@vu.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Web Semantics

Ben Krose

Professor in Digital Health - AUAS-UvA b.j.a.krose@hva.nl
  • Ambient robotics
  • Digital Life
  • distributed camera surveillance
  • human-robot interaction
  • visual navigation

Sander Bohte

ADS Research Project - Scientific Staff Member - CWI S.M.Bohte@cwi.nl
  • computational neuroscience
  • Deep learning
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Neural networks

Peter Bosman

Senior Researcher - CWI Peter.Bosman@cwi.nl
  • deformable image registration
  • evolutionary algorithms
  • Machine Learning
  • multi-objective optimisation
  • radiotherapy treatment planning

Tibor Bosse

Associate Professor Behavioural Informatics - VU t.bosse@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Intelligent Virtual Agents

Iwan de Esch

AAA Project Leader - Associate Professor of Medicinal Chemistry - VU i.de.esch@vu.nl
  • Biocomputational Chemistry
  • drug innovation

Chris de Graaf

AAA Project Leader - Assistant Professor Medicinal Chemistry - VU c.de.graaf@vu.nl
  • computational medicinal chemistry
  • molecular pharmacology
  • protein-ligand interactions

Jaap Heringa

AAA Project Leader - Professor of Bioinformatics - VU heringa@cs.vu.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • genome analysis
  • network analysis
  • sequence analysis
  • systems biology

Mark Hoogendoorn

AAA Project Leader - Assistant Professor of Artificial Intelligence - VU m.hoogendoorn@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Machine Learning
  • personalised therapies
  • predictive modelling for diseases

Zhisheng Huang

Senior Researcher - VU zhg300@vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

Bart A. Kamphorst

AAA Postdoc - VU - Philips Healthcare b.a.kamphorst@vu.nl
  • Behaviour Change
  • E-Coaching Systems
  • ehealth
  • Machine Learning
  • Population Health

Gunnar Klau

Research Group Leader - CWI - Professor - VU gunnar.klau@cwi.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • Combinatorial Algorithms
  • Computational Biology
  • Network Biology

Michel Klein

Assistant Professor of AI - VU michel.klein@cs.vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • behavioural data
  • intelligent self-management systems

Roeland Merks

Scientific Staff Member - CWI - Professor of Multiscale Mathematical Biology - ULeiden Roeland.Merks@cwi.nl
  • Modelling and Simulation
  • Multiscale Mathematical Biology
  • systems biology

Alexander Schönhuth

CWI Alexander.schönhuth@cwi.nl
  • Bioinformatics
  • Cancer Systems Biology
  • Computational Genomics
  • Statistical Modelling
  • Structural Variant Discovery

Annette ten Teije

ADS Health Assignment - Associate Professor Knowledge Representation and Reasoning - VU annette@cs.vu.nl
  • formalisation of medical knowledge
  • Healthcare Information Management
  • Healthcare quality indicators
  • Medical Guidelines

Frank van Harmelen

AAA Programme Director - Professor in Knowledge Representation & Reasoning - VU frank.van.harmelen@cs.vu.nl
  • Artificial intelligence
  • information systems
  • Knowledge Representation
  • semantic web

Max Welling

ADS Advisory Board - Professor in Machine Learning - UvA M.Welling@uva.nl
  • Big data
  • Deep learning
  • Machine Learning

Bart Westerman

AAA Project Leader - VUmc a.westerman@vumc.nl
  • Cancer genomics
  • Cancer research
  • oncogenes
  • transcriptomics

Tom Würdinger

AAA Project Leader - Co-director Neuro-oncology Research - VUmc t. wurdinger@vumc. nl
  • Cancer genomics
  • Cancer research
  • neuro-oncology