City Analytics

Citizens are generating masses of data on social media, voicing their opinions and sharing images of their neighbourhoods. Cities have many datasets, e.g., on public space, infrastructure and processes

Data scientists research how end users can gain new, valuable insights to improve city processes and neighbourhoods.

ADS researchers explore the boundaries of data gathering, storage, analytics and applications for cities – with an emphasis on generating valuable insights for both professionals working on city related projects and the citizens.

We work on data science projects with cities in the Netherlands – Amsterdam, Alkmaar, Eindhoven – and  around the world – Beijing, New York, Singapore, Hong Kong.

Our projects
New Yorker Melange (UvA)
CHIEF (HvA FT)
SENSEI (HvA FDMCI, VU)
REPRO (CWI)
BuurtInzicht (Neighbourhood Insights) (HvA, UvA)

Work with us
If you work at a company, municipality or organisation and want to get involved in city related data science projects please connect with us.

Our researchers

Henri Bal

ADS Advisory Board - Professor of Computer Science - VU h.e.bal@vu.nl
  • Computing Infrastructures
  • High Performance Distributed Computing
  • Web Semantics

Martijn de Waal

ADS Cities Assignment - AUAS/HvA b.g.m.de.waal@hva.nl

Elenna Dugundji

Senior Researcher - CWI-VU e.r.dugundji@cwi.nl
  • Electric Vehicle Infrastructure
  • Freight Logistics
  • Stochastic Modelling
  • Transportation and Mobility Systems
  • Travel Behaviour

Inger Leemans

AAA Project Leader - Professor of Cultural History - VU i.b.leemans@vu.nl
  • CULTURAL HERITAGE
  • data perspectives
  • deep data representation
  • historical perspectives

Sabine Niederer

ADS Advisory board - Director of CREATE-IT - AUAS s.m.c.niederer@hva.nl
  • Citizen Empowerment
  • data visualisation
  • Digital Media

Nanda Piersma

ADS Management Team - City Analytics - AUAS n.piersma@hva.nl

Robert van den Hoed

Lecturer Energy & Innovation - AUAS r.van.den.hoed@hva.nl
  • green ICT
  • Infrastructures
  • Urban technology

Marcel Worring

Professor Business Analytics - Associate Professor Informatics - UvA M.Worring@uva.nl
  • Information Visualisation
  • Intelligent Systems
  • Multimedia Analytics